America's Watershed Steering Committee

A diverse steering committee include participants from across the watershed and different sectors.

Harald “Jordy” Jordahl

America’s Watershed Initiative. Madison, Wisconsin

Jordy Jordahl is the first director of America’s Watershed Initiative, a position he took in January 2013, having previously worked with the Initiative as a consultant on America’s Great Watershed Initiative Summit in St. Louis in September 2012. America’s Watershed Initiative is a collaboration representing both public- and private-sector interests from 31 states that seek solutions to ensure the Mississippi River and its tributaries remain viable for future generations. America’s Watershed has produced the first ever report card providing Americans with a complete picture of the health and a roadmap to ‘raise the grade’ and improve the sustainability of the entire Mississippi River watershed.

Jordy previously worked on resource policy issues with state, local, federal and tribal governments while serving in legislative, executive, administrative and advocacy positions including policy advisor to the Wisconsin Governor, director of intergovernmental relations for the Wisconsin Department of Administration, legislative policy aide and director of government relations for The Nature Conservancy in Wisconsin. His interests have focused on advancing projects affecting working landscapes and the connections between conservation and communities, agriculture, forestry and transportation.

Jordy’s first exposure with the Mississippi River came on duck hunting trips with his dad to pool #9, often ending with a fresh catfish sandwich at the Bright Spot in DeSoto, Wisconsin, before returning home. Jordy lives in the upper Mississippi River watershed in Madison, Wisconsin, with his three children, wife and hunting dog and also manages family agricultural, timber and recreational properties in western and northern Wisconsin.

Jordy graduated from the University of Wisconsin at Madison and also studied at Nansenskolen (Lillehammer, Norway) and University of Oslo Norway.